Blueberry Tartlets

It’s still summer.  I’m still pregnant (but really, any minute now!)  And I’m supposed to “rest and stay inside.”  Which is easy to say and hard to do with a very active three-year-old who likes to go, go, go.  So I find myself in the kitchen with him a lot to keep us both from going a little crazy.

I had a batch of leftover cookie dough from the Daring Baker’s challenge recipe and also a pint of blueberries that needed to be used or frozen.  That and a free afternoon resulted in these:

Blueberry Tartlets

A cinnamon-shortbread cookie crust filled with blueberries – very simply mixed with lemon juice and sugar and a dash of flour.  (I was making this up as I went along, so no, I didn’t really measure anything.)

Then a little topping:

With a crumb topping before baking
With a crumb topping before baking

That’s butter cut into flour and sugar and sprinkled on top.  I baked them for 20 minutes or so in a 350 degree oven.  And they were so popular and gone so quickly, I never got a photo of the finished product!  Oh well.  It was a great way to use up the left over shortbread and it also made a very nice birthday treat for a good friend of my husband’s.  He had it for breakfast and claimed to have devoured the entire tartlet in about 10 seconds!

Tartlet

Leave a Reply

