Rainy Day

I don’t make everything from scratch – far from it.  And sometimes the time spent in the kitchen is really about the time spent…and not about what comes out of the oven.  Like these:

Lemon and Blueberry Cupcakes with a lemon glaze
Lemon and Blueberry Cupcakes with a lemon glaze

We have a very, very fussy eleven-week-old in our house. He pretty much cries for the better part of every day. And while I’m learning a great deal about myself through this time, I’m also learning a great deal about my three-year-old. For instance, he’s very patient about some things and he’s naturally nurturing. After a particularly rough period today, I finally got the baby to sleep. There were one hundred things I would have liked to have done that I can’t do while holding him – things like cleaning the kitchen or sorting laundry – but, instead, I suggested we make cupcakes. My three-year-old looked so surprised…which told me I don’t do this often enough. He had played quietly with his blocks and some puzzle books for most of the day – all while listening, without complaint, to the baby scream. There hadn’t been a lot of mommy’s attention available to him. It’s muddy outside and we couldn’t get too crazy since the baby would only be quiet for about 20 minutes…something quick in the kitchen seemed just the thing.

Lemon cupcake

Nothing fancy here. Boxed lemon cake mix…because a three-year-old can mix in water and oil and eggs and stir to his heart’s content. His little fingers made quick work of placing the muffin papers in the pan. I scooped in the batter and adding blueberries to each one was a good counting exercise (there’s five blueberries in each one, by the way.) The glaze is lemon juice and confectioner’s sugar – he helped squeeze the lemon with the citrus press he sometimes uses as a drum stick.

Lemon cupcake

We laughed and made a little bit of a mess; he licked his fingers a lot and asked one million questions. He had my undivided attention for the longest stretch of time I could manage today. So, no, these cupcakes aren’t anything special…but the time spent in the kitchen was.

8 thoughts on “Rainy Day

    1. gatheraroundthetable

      Ha! Sorry for that…grab a Kleenex and a snack, you’ll feel better. 🙂 Miss you! Loved seeing your photos of your trip.

  1. Marquel

    Jennifer,

    I just love to see your love for cooking. You have inspired me to make dosas (I am sure that Seth will complain–prior to ever putting the first bite in his mouth–then will say, “These are good.”). These look yummy too and what a creative way to spend time with Lincoln. I just love the site and your creativity. Keep on cooking!!!

    1. gatheraroundthetable

      Thanks Marquel – you’ll have to check back in and let me know how they turned out. Can’t wait to hear what Seth thinks! We should try for another lunch sometime soon – I haven’t seen Addison in real life in ages. See you soon.

Leave a Reply

