No More Suits In My Food, Please

That’s it.  We’re done.  We are now earnestly striving to eradicate corporate involvement from the making/growing of our food.  Yes, we just watched Food, Inc. and I’m afraid there’s no going back.

movie_poster-large Food Inc

The anti-corporate, slow food movement is certainly not new.  It’s not even new to me.  I read Pollan’s book (Omnivore’s Dilemma) several years ago and my family rolled their eyes at me for months afterward as I droned on about the evils of corn in our industrial food supply.  I’ve been hovering around the edges of this kind of change for quite awhile.  We did, after all, spend nearly a decade in Seattle…I’ve just been choosing almost-blissful semi-ignorance.  I’m kind of lazy sometimes.

So, no, I wasn’t shocked about the conditions in the slaughterhouses or even that both workers and animals are mistreated.  That’s been true for years.  What I was not prepared for was the intention and malice with which the corporations behind all of our food production carry on their business.  Nor the legions of attorneys whom they employ to prevent the average supermarket shopper from finding out what’s in their food should they think to ask.  And don’t you dare utter a criticism of the industry because it is the giant corporations who are protected – not the consumer.  (I think you might be surprised about the food libel laws, also called veggie libel laws, which exist in this country. And here’s a pretty good summary of the movie which also mentions one of these veggie libel laws in Colorado that you won’t believe.)

I try to buy organic.  We make it to the farmer’s market on occasion.  I’ve looked for a local CSA to support.  I might have been able to continue in my half-aware state, around the edges of this movement, just doing little bits here and there to make myself feel better…except for one woman in this movie.  Barbara Kowalcyk.

Barbara’s story forced me to ask myself, “Well, if no one else is protecting my family, my children…isn’t it ultimately my job?”  This isn’t just about teaching my children to be good stewards of the earth and its resources.  This isn’t just about teaching my sons to take good care of their bodies and be conscious of their health.  Barbara’s story is about the very basic protection of her son’s life.  It was heart wrenching to consider.  And infuriating to learn of the inaction of those responsible and the battle she still fights today in the world of food safety advocacy, now referred to as Kevin’s Law.

And it’s not about fear.  It’s about control.  About taking responsibility for how we impact our planet, our communities, our families and our own bodies with the food we choose three times a day.  Every day.

So what does this really mean? No corporate suits in the food means more overalls, right? No more grocery stores? What about restaurants? Which ones? Meals at other people’s houses? I’ve been asking myself these things over the past few days.  I know enough to try to take as many baby steps as possible with a change like this – to not get too crazy too fast.

For starters, I didn’t immediately throw out every article of food in the house.  We’re going to finish what we already have (which isn’t really a ton.)  I got online and started sourcing grass-fed protein choices from local ranches and farms.  Luckily, a few of them come to a farmer’s market just north of us every Saturday.  I signed up for home delivery of organic produce – all seasonal and local and organic.  I’m getting a bread machine from my mother-in-law at Thanksgiving to help in that department.  Today we purchased a yogurt maker and our first batch will be ready to try in the morning.  (My son loves yogurt and would eat his weight in it daily if I let him.  I seem to be constantly searching for an organic brand with minimal sugar and preservatives…maybe this will solve it.)  We went to another farmer’s market this morning to check out the availability of things like cheese and almond butter and tortillas and other things we tend to always have around.  I’ve started a list of things I’ll still need to find or figure out how to make…but it’s a much smaller list than I expected. And I will NOT be giving up my Diet Coke. Not yet anyway.  I mean, really, a girl can only take so much at once.

For now I’m aware of this: it will be more work in the beginning to be more conscientious.  We will get less food for more money this way (but really, we could all stand to eat a little less around here!)  We will be more grateful for the food we do eat and, I hope, a greater respect for the sacrifice of the animals who nourish us will develop. It will be easier to eat healthier under this new philosophy as no one in overalls is busy making processed food-like products full of corn syrup, right?

I hope to be as free of corporate food as possible by the first of the year.  And I welcome all suggestions and ideas from those of you out there who are ahead of us on this journey.  Stay tuned for more.

And if you haven’t seen the movie, you should.  You really should. Like tomorrow would be soon enough.

_____________________________________

Resources I’m using or planning to try:

Greenling: Austin-based home delivery service promoting local, organic farms

Edelen Farm: grass-fed beef and chicken/eggs

L&M Ranch: grass-fed beef

Farmer’s Markets:  Leon Springs, Bulverde and Pearl

9 thoughts on “No More Suits In My Food, Please

  1. Allison

    I’m super excited about this! Great post. You should read Sproutman’s Kitchen Garden Cookbook. (I got it on Amazon.) It teaches you how and why to sprout grains and then has hundreds of recipes for flour-free, sprouted grain breads, desserts, pizza dough, etc. The Sproutman typically uses honey or molasses as sweetener.

    1. gatheraroundthetable

      Cool – I will check it out! And put that on the list for one of my baby steps down the road. 🙂 We sure missed you at the marathon this morning. Maybe you can make it again next year…?

  2. Shawna

    Hey, girl. I’m still reading. 🙂 This is very interesting to me. I am almost afraid to watch the movie. Ignorance is bliss and all that… but maybe after the first of the year. Like you said, baby steps. Keep posting your finds and your progress so I can stay inspired.

    Let me know how your other project is going, too. Hugs, sm

    1. gatheraroundthetable

      I know how you feel! I think that’s why we’ve been moving toward it for years. It’s just too overwhelming to do all at once. I will keep updating for sure…I’m doing a second batch of yogurt tomorrow and will update about that soon. (And as for the other project, paperwork is in just waiting to get started. :)) Thanks again for your help!

  3. Sophia

    Well said. Honestly, this movie made me become a vegetarian (and I’m not in any way suggesting that you do the same). You seem to have a great plan for working out how to get good food for your family. Good luck!

    1. gatheraroundthetable

      Thank you! And vegetarianism did cross my mind…for just a few seconds. 🙂 I wouldn’t be too surprised if I wound up there some day – or some variation thereof – it does make sense on many levels. The baby steps in that direction seem to be enough to keep me occupied at the moment. Thanks for stopping in and commenting!

  4. cookie74

    Hi Jennifer. What a great post! I’ve been waiting to see the movie, afraid of all it has to show, but I’ve wanted to see it since the summer. The choices you’re making sound so much like what I ‘m trying to do with my family. I’m interested to read how things go.

    My sister was planning to get me a yogurt maker for Christmas. How did it work for you?

    1. gatheraroundthetable

      Thanks! I encourage you to see the movie…in spite of the “no going back” effect it has! 🙂 I’m still working on the yogurt – two batches down and struggling to keep it from getting so tangy (my almost 4 year old isn’t a fan of the more Greek-style tang.) I would hold off on a yogurt maker, I think. It’s not really necessary. It’s really easy to do without one, actually. If ours hadn’t been a gift, I probably wouldn’t have it. I need to get that yogurt post finished and up, huh? Maybe this weekend. Stay tuned!

  5. Pingback: Weekly Delivery « Gather Around The Table

Leave a Reply

