My Little Christmas Soldiers

I’m big on homemade gifts.  It’s one of my very favorite kinds of gifts to give and get.  This year, my little salsa soldiers are ready to make their way into the holidays spreading spice wherever they go.

Can you see those little bits of yummy goodness in there?

This salsa recipe is a favorite in my house for a couple of reasons.  One: I usually have all the ingredients on hand which makes it easy to throw together in just a few minutes.  Two: It is very simple to adjust the heat index on this as the recipe includes both sugar and jalapeños.  Three: It is the closest thing to my favorite kind of Mexican restaurant table salsa – you know, the kind they bring out with the chips?

So, if you still need last minute gifts for people who happen to love spicy things on salty chips, go grab some mason jars and haul out your blender.  Just be sure to make enough of these little soldiers so you can keep one or two for yourself!

Blender Salsa

1 can Italian style tomatoes

1 TB cider vinegar

1 TB sugar*

1 TB jalapeño juice (out of the jar/can)

3 spoonfuls sliced jalapeños*

2 shakes each of: Italian seasoning, garlic salt, season salt

salt and pepper to taste

fresh cilantro to taste*

1/4 onion (optional)

Throw everything in the blender and pulse until nearly smooth…or until it is the consistency you like.

* These ingredients can easily be adjusted up or down depending on your personal flavor preference.  I made three different batches of salsa (1-3 stars) by increasing the heat and amount of the jalapeños.

(I got this recipe from my dear, dear friend Christy – who is about to become a temporary Texan – yippeeee!!! And she has Angi Weigel written on the top of the card.  Just giving credit where it is due.)

Merry Christmas Y’all!

4 thoughts on “My Little Christmas Soldiers

  1. Christy

    Hey, thanks for the shout out! 😉 Looking forward to being closer so we can enjoy some much-needed time around the table (complete with a bottle of wine, of course!) very soon.
    XO

  2. Hi Jennifer,
    Took me a while to get back here, but I’m sure glad I did. I’ve looked everywhere for a good salsa recipe. Can’t wait to try this one! It looks fantastic–yum!
    –Miranda

    1. gatheraroundthetable

      Very good! It’s certainly not the same as fresh salsa, which I love as well, but it’s great to have on-hand and a lovely stand-in. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

