Pumpkin Muffins

Do you ever grab those little breakfast muffins in the bakery at your grocery store? Are you ever jolted by how super-sweet they are? I like the idea of muffins for breakfast, but I don’t like them to be too sweet. And no, I’m not a fan of those all-bran-sawdust muffins, either. Disclosure: I’m a savory-breakfast kinda girl. But, I made these this morning, and with a few tweaks, they will be a perfect breakfast muffin.

Pumpkin isn’t just for the fall, right?

So, the biggest tweak is that I don’t think they need as much chocolate as the original recipe calls for… 1/2 an ounce per muffin tasted like a lot to me. Or maybe those teeny-tiny chocolate chips would be a better choice. I’m inclined to leave them out altogether. Disclosure: I’m not a huge, huge chocolate fan. Now don’t freak out, I didn’t say I DON’T like chocolate, just that I’m not nearly as crazy about it as I know some of you are.

Anyway, I found myself wishing for a little lemon zest flavor to lighten them up a bit and maybe even some poppy seeds. Oh, and cranberries. But I thought, “Do pumpkin and lemon flavors even go together? Can I do that?” Then I remembered a fabulous Christmas gift from my mother. This book. In the back of this book is a huge grid of “Classic and Contemporary Flavor Combinations.” Basically you can look up one flavor and follow its line across the grid to see where it best matches up with berries, nuts, citrus, fruits, chocolate, spices and even some vegetables.  And guess what? Pumpkin and lemon were paired. I’m going to take that as one vote for my tweaking plan.

But if you have to have a daily chocolate fix, these wouldn’t be a bad way to get it.

Pumpkin Muffins

adapted from relish!relish!

1 2/3 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup sugar

2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 large eggs

1 cup pumpkin puree

1/2 cup butter, melted

6 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips Tweak: replace chocolate chips with dried cranberries.  Add 1 TB lemon zest and 1 1/2 TB poppy seeds.

Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl. Break eggs in another bowl and stir. Add pumpkin and butter to eggs. Stir in chocolate chips. Pour over dry ingredients and gently fold in until all moistened. Do not over mix. Pour in lightly greased muffin pan and bake 22 minutes at 350°. (Be sure to check with cake tester as the batter is a little dense.)

These will also freeze well after cooled completely. Wrapping each muffin in plastic wrap before storing in a large freezer bag will help prevent freezer burn.

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Muffins

  1. Shawna

    Yum! But now I can’t decide if I want to do them with lemon and cranberries or mini-chocolate chips. The kids would definitely prefer chocolate. Maybe I’ll divide the batter and do both. We can do a side by side taste test. I’ll get back to you with the results.

    Hugs, sm

    1. gatheraroundthetable

      The numbers for the original recipe (the one in the post) is 148 calories per serving (and I’m assuming a serving is one muffin?) Let me know how they turn out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

