Sharing the Harvest

I’m considering becoming a vegetarian.

Not because I want to be a vegetarian, but because it is the only way all of this food is going to get eaten.

My in-laws came for a visit this weekend and brought an entire ice chest full of goodness. They have an awesome garden:

tomatoes,

bell peppers, cucumbers, peaches and corn which she had already blanched and frozen. Oh, and also, plum jelly.

The rest of the peaches came from my aunt’s tree.

The corn came from a friend I saw on Friday. And let’s all remember how my own garden is being overrun with cucumbers…and bushels of tomatoes in our future.

And then the green beans and carrots and fruit sauce in my uninventoried freezer.

I’m pretty sure vegetarianism is my only option at this point.

There are worse things.

I’m already looking forward to my lunch of Caprese salad…because there’s hardly a better way to eat a fresh tomato.

We had a lovely peach cobbler after dinner last night.

Pickles are on my list for this week.

And, if you are going to see me in the next few days, please bring a grocery bag so I can share all the vegetable goodness. You also might want to reconsider your relationship with meat…you know, so we can stay friends.

7 thoughts on “Sharing the Harvest

  1. Christy Nielson

    Oh man, I wish I lived closer so I could come and share in the bounty! Wow, it all looks delish and would definitely tempt this carnivore to consider vegetarianism, too. Good luck eating through it all.

    1. gatheraroundthetable

      Oh Christy – I would never ask you to give up the precious pig. Never.
      And I might just start shipping vegetables to you. 😉

  2. Jennifer Rieck

    What beautiful veggies! Nothing better than fresh veggies! Lucky you!!!

    We tried growing a few things this year — have gotten a couple of tomatoes and one hot pepper so far. Onions didn’t do well so probably won’t plant them again next year. Waiting for bell pepper, squash and beans to produce.

    1. gatheraroundthetable

      I have no idea what I’m doing with the garden…last year we got zero cucumbers and this year, I did the same thing, and I’m going to drown in them. Guess it’s all about the weather.
      We got one tomato last year and then the plants just burned up. We don’t have any that are ripe yet, but it looks like we might get more than one (fingers crossed!) I can’t figure out what’s going on with the bell peppers. There were great seedling plants and then they stopped growing…and now they are growing again. Go figure! It’s all a big guessing game for me. 🙂

  3. Selena Shelley

    That all looks amazing! You should give Lincoln a summer job and have him set up a road side vegetable stand! 😉

    Our CSA starts this week and I am half totally excited and half totally nervous about how we’re going to eat it all. Guess that’s what friends are for!! 🙂

    1. gatheraroundthetable

      Ha! I actually thought about a little stand in the front yard for Lincoln! 🙂
      Can’t wait to hear about how the CSA works…I wish we had one.

  4. Pingback: Peach Cobbler « Gather Around The Table

Leave a Reply

