Peach Cobbler

Remember those peaches from last week? Well, I had enough for two peach cobblers…and here’s one of them.

They were so juicy I had to peel and slice them right over the bowl.

Some of you may find this hard to believe, but I’m not sure I’ve ever made a peach cobbler before. (When my husband reads this he will shake his head and remind me of the seventeen different varieties of cobbler I’ve made since he’s known me…none of which I will remember.) All I know is that there is no recipe card for peach cobbler (or any other kind of cobbler) in my super-special-grab-if-there-is-ever-a-fire recipe box. So, if I have made one before, it wasn’t good enough to earn itself a place in the box.

I think it’s safe to say I’m no expert in the cobbler department. In fact, I’m not entirely sure this recipe even IS a cobbler…maybe it’s a betty or a buckle, a slump or a sonker or even a grunt. See if you can figure out the difference.

What I do know is that if it is semi-Southern in origin, I check with Paula Deen. And then I check to see if I have a pound of butter in the ‘fridge.

This cobbler was a little gooey for me…I like a higher fruit to batter ratio. My husband said it was just right. But he doesn’t like fruit. When I make cobbler #2, I’m going to increase the amount of peaches. From a flavor standpoint, it was delish. And as far as difficulty, you could make it with your eyes closed. Really. It’s that simple.

See all that warm gooey filling?

Of course, when we served it there was vanilla ice cream involved. Seems like that’s kind of a law…and if it’s not, it should be.

Make-it-with-your-eyes-closed Peach Cobbler

adapted from Paula Deen

4 cups peeled, sliced peaches (I think this could be 5 or 6 cups)

1 1/2 cups sugar, divided

1/3 cup water

8 TB butter (she’s going easy on us here!)

1 1/2 cups self-rising flour (which I did not have – see note below)

1 1/2 cups milk

Cinnamon, optional

Preheat oven to 350°F. Combine peaches, 1/2 cup sugar and water in a saucepan and mix well. Bring to a boil and simmer gently for 5-7 minutes. Remove from heat.

Put the butter in a 3-quart baking dish and place it in the oven to melt.

Mix remaining sugar with flour and milk slowly to prevent clumping. Pour mixture over melted butter – DO NOT STIR. Spoon fruit on top and pour in some of the syrup, too. Sprinkle with cinnamon, if using. The batter will rise to the top during baking. Bake for 35-45 minutes or until top is getting brown and bubbly.

Serve with vanilla ice cream. Or you might get a ticket.

NOTE: For each cup of self-rising flour you can substitute 1 cup all-purpose flour with 2 tsp removed and 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon salt added in.

5 thoughts on “Peach Cobbler

  1. Selena Shelley

    Seriously, you have to stop posting things like this if you’re not also going to offer free shipping within the continental U.S.! 😉

  2. Jennifer Rieck

    That looks SO good! I’ve only had one sweet dessert since mid January (dieting). Sweets are (were) my weakness…

  3. gatheraroundthetable

    Well ladies, if it’s any consolation, I had a tiny little taste of it when I made it…and then it sat in our kitchen night after night while Ron kept cursing it (and eating it.) But I didn’t have another bite. Then I gave the rest of it to my grandmother.

    So at least you aren’t trying to avoid it while it’s IN your kitchen! 😉

  4. Pingback: Peach Cobbler Encore « Gather Around The Table

Leave a Reply

