Back with The Daring Kitchen…

I’ve been away from The Daring Kitchen for a little while…there was the oven issue, sick kids, me feeling lazy…but I’m back! So let’s get to it:

Our hostesses this month, Evelyne of Cheap Ethnic Eatz, and Valerie of a The Chocolate Bunny, chose delicious pâté with freshly baked bread as their June Daring Cook’s challenge! They’ve provided us with 4 different pâté recipes to choose from and are allowing us to go wild with our homemade bread choice.

I think pâté is kind of like cilantro…people seem to either love it or hate it. I don’t know many who are on the fence. We fall in the love category. Well, with the pâté anyway. I also love cilantro. Everyone else in my house makes a face over it.

Pâté was a regular feature at the wine tasting evenings of our past. But I’ve never made it. Never even thought about trying to make it. My dear friend Erica, hostess of the best wine tastings, was so excited to hear I was going to give it a try and immediately made a request for a mushroom pâté she’s been wanting to have with Thanksgiving dinner. Another great reason to get back to The Daring Kitchen challenges.

The recipe for the mushroom pâté called for three different kinds of mushrooms. I used two different kinds and one of them had to be purchased dried and reconstituted.

You can hydrate dried mushrooms in hot water for about 30 minutes or boiling water for just 2 or 3 minutes. You don’t want to leave them in water too long or they get unspeakably soggy. (One ounce of dried mushrooms will turn into about 3-4 ounces of re-hydrated mushrooms. Remember that when you see the price on those packages of dried mushrooms!)

I also used some fresh cremini mushrooms.

Cremini are baby portabellas. And one of my favorites.

The sautéed mushrooms get mixed in a food processor with cream cheese and goat cheese and spices…

…and then into the refrigerator so the cheeses can set back up and create a stiffer pâté.

I’m aware that pâté can look like cat food. I get it. I do. But really, if you love mushrooms, this recipe is worth a try. And it is so flexible you can change the flavors as you like.

The other part of the challenge was to make homemade bread to go with the pâté. “No problemo,” I thought. And it went very well…until the last rise. Which it kind of didn’t. The flavor was right, but it wasn’t as fluffy as it should have been. Also, there is the possibility that I put the bread in the oven before it was fully preheated. I had a fever. I wasn’t really paying attention.

Starter dough…which rests at room temperature for at least 14 hours.

Finished dough in thirds, resting. These ovals were supposed to be rolled into three baguette loaves, but my pans weren’t long enough so I cut them in half.

Ready for the final rise.

Oh, and there was a whole other pâté, too. Liver and pork, three ways.

Whew!

Here are the recipes:

Mushroom pâté from Emeril

Pâtés and baguettes on The Daring Kitchen site.

Enjoy!

Oh, and Happy Father’s Day.

UPDATE: The liver pâté was overwhelming. And not in a good way. I had to substitute beef liver for pork liver (which I could not find anywhere) and it was just too strong. The texture didn’t really work either. So I don’t recommend the substitution but, our dog Hannah love, love, loved it. And the not-so-fluffy bread wound up in freezer bags in tiny cubes labeled “For The Ducks.” So, it was a good week for the animals.

One thought on “Back with The Daring Kitchen…

Leave a Reply

