Peach Cobbler Encore

I had an abundance of peaches recently…about the same time I had my vegetarian scare. I made a peach cobbler that was yummy and super simple. And there were still peaches left over. Thanks to my husband’s wonderful cousin, Leigh, I had an even easier recipe to try. Easier than “Make-with-your-eyes-closed Cobbler.” I’m not sure what that makes this one…maybe eyes closed and one hand tied behind your back? See for yourself:

Melt the butter in the pan while your oven is preheating. On top of the butter you dump a simple batter. No need to stir…just dump. On top of that, 2-3 cups of uncooked fruit. I used the peaches, of course, and some leftover blueberries I had from the pavlovas. Also because another friend of mine, Shawna, sent me a cobbler recipe that had berries in it and I couldn’t stop thinking about how yummy they would be in this one.

It bakes in a 350° oven for about 45 minutes, until the edges are golden and the batter has bubbled up through the fruit so it looks almost like pie. You could probably do that with one hand behind your back, right?

Now, don’t tell anyone, but I made this when we didn’t have any ice cream in the house. Criminal, I know. I did, however, have some of that mascarpone cream…which, I have to say, gave Blue Bell a little run for its money. (Not in my husband’s opinion, of course, because Vanilla Bean Blue Bell is akin to heroin as far as he’s concerned. But for me and my I-only-think-ice-cream-is-OK tastebuds, it was divine.) I sampled this cobbler while at my aunt’s house for a playdate with the kiddos and she agreed with me that the cream was a hit. And she has exceptional taste. I’m never going to tell you to eat cobbler without ice cream, but, you know, in case you are feeling adventurous, you have options.

Cousin Leigh’s Make-it-with-your-eyes-closed-AND-one-hand-behind-your-back Peach and Blueberry Cobbler

2-3 cups of peaches and blueberries, mixed

1/2 stick of butter (4 TB)

3/4 cup flour

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 milk

1 tsp baking powder

Melt butter in pie plate while oven is preheating to 350°. Mix flour, sugar, milk and baking powder until smooth. Dump on top of butter. Dump fruit on top of batter. Sprinkle with sugar and bake for 45-50 minutes. Open your eyes and serve.

Thanks Leigh!!

2 thoughts on “Peach Cobbler Encore

  1. Christy Nielson

    MMM! This seems like the perfect dessert for my 4th of July BBQ on Sunday, served with Justin’s hand-crank homemade ice cream, of course! 🙂 Thanks for the recipe.

    1. gatheraroundthetable

      Any chance we can get a repeat performance of the ice cream in a couple of weeks when I’m there?!! Sounds like too much fun (the watching Justin work hard part, at least!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

