A Favorite Marinade

Our final year in Seattle was one of the best. We had this great neighbor, Liz, who is an absolutely classic Seattlite and makes very cool pottery. She also makes fantastic grilled chicken. When we moved she gave me the recipe for the marinade and said it came from The Herb Farm. Though I often dreamed of eating there, I was never lucky enough to, so I can’t really verify that. But, it sounds good, so I’m going with it anyway.

We’ve always used this marinade for things we are going to grill. But the other day it was raining and I didn’t feel like cleaning that pesky grill pan again. I was also anxious to use anything out of my recently completed herb garden. So, I slathered some chicken in this marinade and stuck it in the oven. It was wonderful. Almost better than the grilled version, which I wasn’t expecting.

Ready for the oven

This marinade is so simple. There are no fancy ingredients. There’s something about the ratios and the fresh herbs that make it distinctive to me. And a favorite in our rotation. Chicken, pork, fish…it’s not picky. Enjoy!

Classic Honey-Mustard Marinade

3 TB high-quality Dijon mustard

juice of one lemon or lime

3 TB olive oil

5 cloves minced or pressed garlic

2 TB honey

2 TB or more of FRESH rosemary or parsley or cilantro, chopped fine

Tabasco (*or sauce of your choice) to taste

Salt/Pepper

Combine all ingredients, cover chicken and let marinate 2-3 hours. Grill and serve. Alternate: slather chicken breasts in marinade and bake at 350° for 20-25 minutes.

* We aren’t fans of Tabasco in our house, so I always substitute some other kind of hot sauce…use what you like!

3 thoughts on “A Favorite Marinade

  1. I love the sound of this marinade… and it’s definitely a great way to use up all the herbal abundance we have in our yard. I’m going to make bets this would be great for a whole roasted bird too… gotta try that when the weather cools down a bit!

    1. gatheraroundthetable

      A great way to use up herbs for sure! I love your site about raw food – I do a raw food detox every so often and am a big fan. Great stuff!

Leave a Reply

