Back to Work

So here we go. Back to work.

Yikes.

It’s been about five years. On some days that feels like yesterday and, on others, it seems like a different lifetime.

Generally, I am celebrating this new phase. In addition to a little panic about how to make childcare and budgets work. On top of the worry that there won’t be enough clients soon enough to make this whole thing happen. And the little voice in the background which keeps asking, “How in the world will you be a sometimes-stay-at-home mom, a wife and a working marriage and family therapist who needs to market, build a new practice and do continuing education while still finding a way to get dinner on the table, keep the mountain of laundry to a minimum, run a local non-profit, get to the gym at least once a year and occasionally read a book?”

Of course the answer is that a ton of people do it every day, and some of them even make it look easy. Surely, I’ll be able to figure it out.

And, if not, there’s always cake.

Right?

Oh, and here’s the recipe for this one. I made this for a birthday party for a family friend…she likes mint and chocolate. OK, I must go make a list of all the other things I should be doing instead of talking about cakes.

2 thoughts on “Back to Work

  1. Selena Shelley

    You and I could talk for hours about this dilemma… I am already wondering how I’m going to make my “it’s already tough to focus on marketing/networking private practice” work when we have our baby.

    You’ll figure it out though… and I’m sure be one of those people who makes it look easy after a little while! 🙂

    Hugs,
    Selena

  2. One more ball to juggle! I used to think that I could conquer the balancing act, but I’ve come to learn the hard way that is an impossible task. As life changes, so does the art of balancing it all. You’ll make it happen! I am happy for you.

Leave a Reply

