Birthdays – I have to share now!

I’m not so good at sharing, really.  I know I should be better at it and I should be modeling it for my boys…but it’s hard for me.

And now I have to share my birthday.

This little guy came along last year only 2 days before my birthday. So this year on my birthday I was in the kitchen cooking and baking and getting everything ready for his first birthday party (lucky for me I love that kind of thing, huh?) I’ve decided that I’m just going to take a break from my birthday for oh, about 17 years, and then I’ll pick back up where I left off. I think it is a great aging prevention plan. And then I don’t have to share.

We have a couple of birthday traditions in our family. The birthday breakfast, of course, which was quite cute with this little munchkin and his fiery pancake that he wasn’t too sure about.

Big brother had to help blow out the candle, but the birthday boy didn’t have any trouble polishing off that pancake. The kid can eat.

The other tradition is the birthday letter. They each have a journal and every year on their birthday I write a letter to them.

The Birthday Books

I got this idea from a photo album and a letter box made by Once Upon A Family. I loved both ideas and combined them in these journals.

Lincoln's First Birthday Book Entry

I don’t think I’ll be handing them over when the boys turn 21 as suggested on the website, but maybe when they are in their 30s…or 40s…however old they will have to be to appreciate something like this. Probably if/when they have children themselves?

Whitman's First Birthday Book Entry

And for Lincoln’s second birthday I asked everyone to please include a letter for him, too.  My grandmother is in her late 80s and she adores these boys in a way only a great-grandmother can. My youngest probably won’t be able to remember much about her when he’s older and the idea of having something from her, in her handwriting, seems really special to me. (I know, I know, boys generally don’t care about this kind of thing…but maybe someday when they are old like me!)

The other must-have for birthdays in our house is red velvet cake. It’s the only cake that will do. (The recipe is in this post, along with a bunch of cake stands I still don’t have.) It was a cowboy theme this year so the cupcakes were decked out in the appropriate western wear.

As regular readers know, I can’t bring myself to put anything but cream cheese frosting on a red velvet cake. And unfortunately cream cheese frosting is pretty horrible for decorating with…so, I try to keep it simple. Slap on the frosting, top it with a hat and be done with it.

Whitman was more interested in playing with the cowboy boots than eating his cake anyway! I think he took two bites and didn’t make nearly the mess the grandparents were hoping for. Oh well, maybe next year!

Still to come…the birthday food, my birthday celebrations – there were two! And a birthday gift which will be featured here regularly in the future. I know, I know, you just can’t wait. 😉

7 thoughts on “Birthdays – I have to share now!

  1. Christy Nielson

    I love the idea of the birthday journal! What a sweet tradition. You’re such a great mom. I still think you should consider the half-birthday idea (though not having a b-day for 17 years sounds pretty appealing, too!).

    1. gatheraroundthetable

      Thanks! I am considering the half-birthday…it would be at the end of Jan…during holiday recovery and just before Valentine’s and Linc’s birthday…the more I think about it the more I like the idea of just skipping!! Just think, when Whit graduates from high school I’ll just be turning 38. Ha!

  2. Lolly

    We still have to have our “40” celebration in Napa though! Maybe we can go in June over my birthday so you can continue to “skip” yours 🙂

  3. Selena Shelley

    You make me laugh… before you had to share your birthday it wasn’t a big deal. But now that you have to share it is!

    Looks like you all had a lot of fun, and I love the journal idea… going to borrow that one for sure!

    Happy Birthday to you both! 🙂

  4. I love the birthday journal idea too. Too bad my oldest is already 3. What would you do to make up for the years you didn’t do it? I could still start at the beginning for my little guy. He doesn’t turn one til January.

    My birthday is 8 days before my brother’s and 2 days before his fiancee’s. If they’re in town with my nieces, we all go to eat with my parents (they buy!). I like sharing my birthday. But my husband and 3-year-old have back to back birthdays. We’ll see how that works out once he reaches elementary school age.

    1. gatheraroundthetable

      Three isn’t that old – just start now! You could always just put the photos in from the years 1-3. I always think about it this way: if my mother had done this, would I be all that disappointed to have a year or two missing? Probably not – I’d think it was so cool to have it at all. It’s never too late. 🙂

Leave a Reply

