Moroccan Chicken and Couscous

I had clients to see this afternoon and one of my most favorite people on the planet was going to watch the boys. So I threw together a quick dinner for them (and so I wouldn’t have to cook when I got home!)  There was even enough left to jazz up the boys’ lunches for tomorrow, too.

Moroccan Chicken and Israeli Couscous

This recipe is simple and a nice flavor change from the usual one-skillet dinner. And with the chicken and onions and mangos and almonds, it’s got a little bit of everything.

So a little more on lunch box lunches…don’t worry, I’ll get tired of these before we’re halfway through September!

Lunch for the littlest pumpkin is chopped up chicken and couscous, apples and grapes, ham and cheese, banana-flavored puffs and mandarin oranges.

And the other lunch is strawberries/apples, chicken and couscous, rice cakes, wheat thins with almond butter and cheese with a pickle. He loves the sour/dill/pickle thing. Always has.

And yes, I’m aware…not enough green vegetables. We’re working on it.

Moroccan Chicken with Israeli Couscous

slivered almonds (I used about 1/4 cup)

1.5 lbs chicken, in chunks

2-3 TB seasoning – see note below

olive oil

1 medium red onion, thinly sliced

14 oz chicken broth

1-2 mangos, cubed (about 1 lb)

10 – 12 oz. couscous (I use the large pearl Israeli kind)

fresh cilantro, chopped, about 1/4 cup

Mix the chicken chunks with a TB or so of olive oil and 1-1.5 TB of the seasoning. Let this sit for as long as possible to “marinate.” Over medium heat, toast the almond slivers for 3-4 minutes. Set aside.

Add a TB or so of olive oil to a pan over medium high heat – until it is shimmering but not smoking. Add chicken chunks and cook for 4-5 minutes, until there is no more pink. Set chicken aside and keep warmish.

In same pan, sauté red onion slices until almost caramelized, about 5-6 minutes. Mix remaining seasoning with chicken broth. Add to onions and be sure to scrape up any brown bits that might have been in the pan. Bring broth to a simmer. Add in chicken and mango and couscous. Cover, turn off heat and let sit until couscous absorbs all the liquid. Before serving toss in the toasted almonds and cilantro.

*Seasoning mix: I used a pre-mixed “Moroccan Seasoning.” However, the recipe said you could substitute curry. That doesn’t really seem an adequate substitute to me, so here’s the list of ingredients: spices (that’s helpful, huh?), raw sugar, salt, paprika, onion, lemon peel, soy sauce, garlic.  When I taste the seasoning mix, I mostly taste the curry, paprika and sugar…oh, and the lemon, too. Hope that’s helpful.

Get yourself a belly dancer and enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Moroccan Chicken and Couscous

  1. I want to make this right. Now. It looks so delicious and I want it in my refrigerator. And to take some to my Mom. I’ll let you know how it turns out (when I make it. A totally different deal from when you make it, you know that.)

  2. gatheraroundthetable

    I really do want you to make it. Really. And then let me know what you think. I was so excited to see your venture into baking (bread)! How were the first-day-of-school cookies??

  3. Made it! Love it! I cooked it up last night & took it to the yoga studio for lunch today. 3 other people ate it & loved it too. (And no one has died! That, of course, has everything to do with me & my cooking skills and nothing to do with the recipe.) We ate it cold and it was still delicious. Yay! A keeper!

Leave a Reply

