Party Planning

Does anyone else do this?

Maybe it looks like this?

I catered a fairly nice-sized Christmas party for a church a couple of years ago and, while planning the menu, I had a lot of difficulty keeping the actual presentation of the food straight in my head.  So, I laid out the serving platters and dishes ahead of time and labeled them so I wouldn’t forget anything. And I’ve just never really stopped doing it anytime I’m planning multiple dishes for a gathering.

It keeps me from having to scramble and wash a large platter at the last minute. It keeps me from mindlessly using the perfect salad bowl for an ice bucket and then having to put the salad on that newly-washed platter. It keeps me from completely forgetting about the appetizer I made two days ahead of time which is hiding in the refrigerator. It keeps me from having to place the chips and dips on the end table because I ran out of room on the buffet. I used to be much more capable of organizing things in my brain and remembering them. Now, not so much. I have to write it down. I have to set it out. I have to see it to remember it.

Would I really forget the cupcakes? I might. I really might.

But thanks to my little sticky notes (and the incessant questioning of my 4-year-old about when he would get to have one) I did not forget the cupcakes for this little soirée.

On another birthday note…one of my gifts this year is featured in this very post. Did you see it?

Here’s a hint: All of these photos were taken late at night. In our sun room. Without any sun.

*

*

*

*

*

Give up?

*

*

*

*

*

Doesn’t that look fancy? Like I have a clue as to what I’m doing? Ha! Not even close. But they are super cool and fun to play with…and, of course, the perfect gift (which my husband is very good at giving) because they are something I wanted, but hadn’t mentioned, and I would have never, ever gone out and gotten them for myself.

Now, if I can just figure out how to get my hands on a big girl camera…I might be dangerous.

3 thoughts on “Party Planning

  1. Selena Shelley

    I think Pampered Chef should put you back on their payroll… your post is like a walking PC catalog! 😉

    And I like the post-it idea… now I just need to have you come and cook all those wonderful dishes!

    1. gatheraroundthetable

      It is kind of silly, isn’t it? I have so much of their stuff…good thing most of it was free! Besides, we ran out of kitchen space, I had to stop doing it.

Leave a Reply

