Not-So-Awful-For-You Oatmeal Cookies

I don’t bake a lot of cookies. I bake often…just not usually cookies, for some reason. Probably because I don’t want cookies sitting around the house. They are way too easy to eat. Not like a piece of cake or pie, which usually requires a plate and a fork…no, a cookie you can actually grab as you are walking out the door at nearly 2:00 when you realize you haven’t eaten anything yet that day. Not that I would know anything about that.

My kids, of course, wish the kitchen counters were full of cookies every day. So, every once in awhile I indulge that. But I don’t want to feel too guilty about it, so this recipe seemed promising to me. Lots of oatmeal, honey and agave as substitutions for some of the sugar and a heaping amount of almond butter…and the no-fuss bake approach makes them really easy to customize with nuts or fruits or other semi-healthy additions.

The most important cookie test in our household is how they hold up after 24-hours. Because, let’s be honest, with enough sugar and butter you could make sawdust cookies that would be good while still warm. It’s really hard to mess up a fresh-from-the-oven cookie of any kind. But after they’ve cooled and sat overnight…that’s a whole ‘nother story.

So in addition to my husband’s assessment that these cookies passed the 24-hour test (“still soft and chewy,”) he was a fan because they aren’t too sweet.

If you like your cookies to be more uniform in shape, you’ll want to be more careful than I was about scooping out the dough. I’m used to cookies with more butter and sugar – which means they spread out while baking and turn into pretty circles all on their own – and these cookies don’t really do that. They spread a little, but not much. So, if you like your cookies more round than Rorschach inkblot, be sure to make neat little spheres before they go into the oven.

Not-So-Awful-For-You Oatmeal Cookies

adapted from NourishMD (or at least I think so. This is a great website with a ton of really good information on feeding our kids…however, when I went back to get the link for this particular recipe, I couldn’t find it again. So maybe I’m making the whole thing up. It is still a great site…so check it out anyway.)

3 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1 stick of butter, softened

1 cup dark brown sugar

1 TB honey

1/3 cup agave syrup*

1.5 cups almond butter

2 tsp baking soda

4.5 cups organic oatmeal

1/2 tsp salt

6 oz dark chocolate chips

Mix dry ingredients and wet ingredients thoroughly in separate bowls. Then combine together. Scoop dough to desired size and chill overnight or freeze. Bake cold or frozen dough for 12-14 minutes at 350°.  Allow to cool on cookie sheet for 2 minutes before moving to cooling rack. Store in airtight container once completely cooled.

*If you don’t have agave or don’t want to use it, just use 1.5 cups of brown sugar and omit the agave syrup. Alternately, you could leave out the brown sugar completely and use 1 cup of agave syrup in it’s place. This will alter the texture of the dough a little, but the chilling/freezing is meant to offset some of that.

Variations: you can easily add dried fruits or nuts to this dough without any trouble. You can also change what kind of nut butter you use to change the flavor. I’m thinking the next time I make them I might substitute some vanilla and almond flavored granola for some of the oatmeal – that would make them a little crunchier. I’d love to know if you change them up and how they turn out!

2 thoughts on “Not-So-Awful-For-You Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Shawna

    Only you could work Rorschach into a recipe. 🙂 I will try these although JP doesn’t really like oatmeal in any form. I wonder if I ground the oat meal in the food processor so it was less identifiable I could get these to fly.

    Thanks for sharing! sm

  2. Selena Shelley

    Oatmeal cookies are one of my favorites. And Michael’s are hard to beat — he credits the stone, not the recipe which I thought you would appreciate!

    Will have to try these next time… thanks!

Leave a Reply

