Holiday Bread: Remix

There is always some left over pumpkin in the house after the holidays. I usually ignore it. And sometimes I make these muffins.

But this year I made another batch of my mother’s holiday bread, with a twist.

I keep bananas in the freezer. Sometimes we use them in smoothies. But this winter we haven’t been eating many smoothies, so they have kind of piled up in there. I smashed one of them up and threw it into the batter.

And I’m kind of over cranberries for awhile. So I used blueberries. And I went up on the baking soda.

And instead of baking it in a loaf pan, I poured it into a 9×9 square pan. It was a little more like cake. It was also super yum. Reminiscent of the holiday favorite, but different enough for January. I’m so happy about the extra loaf waiting in the freezer. Think it will make it until February?

MY MOM’S CRANBLUEBERRY BANANA PUMPKIN BREAD

2 slightly beaten eggs

2 cups sugar

½ cup oil

1 cup solid pack pumpkin

2 ¼ cups flour

1 TB pumpkin pie spice

2 tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

1 banana, smashed

1 cup chopped cranberries blueberries

Combine eggs, sugar, oil and pumpkin – mix well.  In a large bowl mix flour, pie spice, soda and salt.  Make well in center and pour pumpkin mixture in – mix just until dry ingredients are moist.  Stir in banana and blueberries.  Spoon batter into 2 greased and floured 8x 3 ¾ x 2 ½ in. aluminum loaf pans.  Bake for 45-50 minutes at 350. (Adjust time to 35-40 minutes for mini loaf pans. Test center until done.)

Leave a Reply

