Pancakes – reformed

I’ve posted about pancakes before. How I like to make big batches of them and keep them in the freezer for quick breakfasts.

But I’m a little food challenged these days because of this guy’s temporary (hopefully) restrictions. So pancakes sounded nearly impossible when they couldn’t have gluten, wheat, soy, milk or eggs in them. But, of course, they weren’t.

In the grocery store I found this:

Gluten and wheat-free, soy-free, nut-free, no additives, no preservatives. Sounds  easy enough, right? Except for the “mix in two EGGS and BUTTER and MILK” part. I almost put it back. But then I thought, “Wait…I can substitute oil for the butter…and almond milk for the milk…and I seem to remember a trick about eggs that I learned from my friend Christy who can’t eat eggs.”

Flaxseed!

I TB ground flaxseed with 3 TB water replaces one egg.

And look what happens:

They get all puffy and brown just like they are supposed to. Yay!

I made the whole batch so I could freeze some.

And it makes plenty…this stack is the leftovers after everyone tried them…and liked them! Really, I couldn’t tell the difference.

So I slipped some squares of parchment between them and into the freezer they went. Nothing like having part of some future breakfast on reserve in the freezer.

Reformed pancakes easily get classified in the “success” category on this little food adventure of ours. Now on to Day#6…

PS: Christy has also used the flaxseed trick on these little cakes with reported success. Just in case you were wanting another experiment option.

4 thoughts on “Pancakes – reformed

  1. Shawna

    Hey, girl. Those look like some delicious pancakes. Good for you for experimenting. Hope you get answers for Whitman’s troubles soon. I made bunches of pancakes today, too and put them in the freezer. I have a tasty whole wheat recipe I love to make, and my little people eat them up. Momma, too. Hugs, sm

  2. Selena Shelley

    Pancakes… my favorite!!

    Bob’s Red Mill makes a good GF/DF pancake mix, if you want to mix it up a bit!! 🙂

    Hope you guys are still doing well with the elimination diet. And hope things at the pediatrician turned out OK.

    Hugs,
    Selena

    1. gatheraroundthetable

      Thanks for all the offers, support, etc. As an update, the pediatrician has actually asked us to stop all the food elimination…in the event that the bloodwork is negative (which we find out tomorrow) we’l have to go to a gastrointerologist and if they want to do testing he’ll need to have everything in his system, so to speak. So, for now, we have a break from the food part of this. Whitman was so delighted to have macaroni and cheese. 🙂

      1. Selena Shelley

        Wow… Good luck with the bloodwork and possible GI consult. Keep us posted on how everything progresses.

        In the meantime, smart kid for appreciating his mac n’ cheese… what I wouldn’t give for a bowl!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

