Spring Rolls with Peanut Sauce

I know we’ve already talked about the heat around here. So I won’t mention it again. And I won’t mention how I have heart palpitations (not the good kind) if I think I’m going to have to turn on the oven.

I’m currently obsessed with/addicted to sushi.

And lettuce wraps. I really crave lettuce wraps.

A good Caesar salad will make me swoon.

Yes, there’s a theme.

A no-heat theme that I’m really attached to here in Texas in late August where we’ve lost count of how many records have been broken by the endless string of triple-digit days. Don’t get me started on the need for rain.

These are pretty simple to make once you get an assembly line set up. The rice wrappers can be a little tricky, but with a practice roll or two, you’ll do just fine. Trust me.

Here is a poorly-lit photo of all the components for spring rolls

One of the fun things about these is you can customize to your heart’s content. I have made these before with basil and cilantro in them…avocado…crab or chicken instead of shrimp…rice instead of vermicelli noodles. Consider this a guideline rather than a recipe.

The rice wrappers come dry and brittle and don’t seem like something you would want to eat. After 5-10 seconds in some warm water, they are ready to roll.

Warm water in a shallow dish or plate…that’s it. After the wrapper has gotten soft it is ready to be filled.

These had a layer of baby spinach, cucumbers, carrots, vermicelli noodles (the mung bean variety) and shrimp. Then you roll it. Then you re-roll it. Then you throw the first wrapper out and start over. From there on, you’ll be just fine.

I always forget to leave enough room on the ends for the wrapper to fold all the way over…as evidenced by the peek hole here on the first roll. Which is not the end of the world, it just makes it a little messier. By the time I get to the last roll I’ve remastered the technique once again. Which I will forget by the next time I make them.

I wasn’t thrilled with this dipping sauce. I thought it was the same one I’ve made before which we really like…but it wasn’t. So I’m not going to bother you with the recipe. When we realized the sauce wasn’t right, I whipped up a peanut sauce to use instead…that was much better.

I will be eating these until it cools off a little. So, sometime right before Christmas I guess. Signing out for now…from my air-conditioned, no-oven-allowed house here in the seventh ring of you-know-where.

Peanut Dipping Sauce

from Martha Stewart

1 cup smooth peanut butter

2 TB dark sesame oil

3 TB soy sauce

1 garlic clove

1 teas sambal (chili sauce…or heat of your choice)

1 TB sugar

fresh lemon juice

coconut milk

1 scallion, chopped

In a blender or food processor, combine peanut butter, oil , soy sauce, garlic, sambal and sugar until smooth. Add splash of lemon juice (I used about 1/3 of a lemon.) With machine running, add coconut milk until sauce is desired consistency. Garnish with scallion, if desired. Sauce may be made ahead of time and stored in refrigerator for 2-3 days. Bring to room temperature before serving. (And I’ve put a batch in the freezer, so I’ll let you know how that works out.)

 

 

4 thoughts on “Spring Rolls with Peanut Sauce

    1. gatheraroundthetable

      Yeah…the boys were less-than-impressed for sure. Although, no complaining, Lincoln has taken to asking for salad with dinner so I feel like that is huge progress! They do like the peanut sauce…for chicken nuggets. 🙂

    1. gatheraroundthetable

      And we just had the frozen left-overs last night on some thai chicken with glass noodles and it was great – freezes really well!

Leave a Reply

