Eggs and Quiche…and more eggs

If you’ve been reading this blog for awhile then you’ll know what I mean when I say that we have an abundance of “real” eggs in our house at the moment. My parents have a fabulous neighbor who keeps chickens (and reads this blog – Hi Jennifer!) so she knows about how many eggs my boys go through in a week.

Last week my dad called and told me he had some eggs for us and to “bring a cooler.” He wasn’t kidding. Four-and-a-half dozen!!

I immediately hard-boiled at least a dozen of them.  We had breakfast for dinner one night and used up a bunch more. My five-year-old loves that the eggs are all different colors and the double yolks are the biggest deal!

Even with all of that, there were still a lot of eggs hanging around. So I got busy formulating a mini-quiche my two-year-old could eat, since he is still on some dietary restrictions…it can get a little tricky.

But I was able to come up with these:

Onion and Spinach Mini-Quiche with a Manchego “Crust”

He can’t have cow’s milk products, but he can have goat’s milk and sheep’s milk. So I grated some manchego in the bottoms of the mini-muffin cups in hopes it would get just crispy enough to seem like a thin crust. Onions and spinach were sauteed in bacon grease and spooned on top of the cheese. Then the eggs…and instead of cream I used chicken broth to keep it a little moist.

You can sort of see the slight crispiness on the bottom of this one. They are flatter than a traditional quiche – partly because of the tiny muffin cups and partly because there’s no cream or cheese in the egg mixture.

But the two-year-old did not care. He ate twelve of them for breakfast. Yes, twelve. And then he finished off the rest of the batch later in the morning. I have it on my list of things to do for this weekend to make up several more batches so I can have them on-hand in the freezer. He loved them. And I loved sneaking all that spinach into him.

Since I didn’t want the rest of us to feel left out, I made a regular one, too.  Same basic process, but I used Monterrey Jack and Parmesan for the crust…onions and spinach, cream and eggs…tomatoes on top.  I had it for brunch several days this week and wondered to myself why I don’t make these more often. They are so versatile, easy to grab and go, freeze well…so more quiche is certainly on the list for next week’s meal planning.

The weird shadows on the food are due to the fact that I was taking these photos at sunrise...which means I wasn't awake enough at the time to notice them and reshoot shadowless ones. I trust you all can overlook my early morning deficiencies. 🙂

There are still plenty of eggs in my house so, I’m guessing there might be Buttermilk Pie and Angel Food Cake posts coming soon.  Maybe I’ll finally make it around to another try at the elusive macaron! Either way, a big *thank you* to Jennifer R. and her “real” chickens!! (I’ll send the empty cartons back soon.)

Crustless Onion and Spinach Quiche

1/2 cup each Monterrey Jack and Parmesan cheese, grated

1 onion, diced

4-6 ounces baby spinach, chopped

2-3 TB bacon grease (or olive oil)

2 cups eggs, beaten

1 1/2 cups cream

2 TB corn starch

salt, pepper

1 large tomato, sliced

Preheat oven to 425°. Spread the cheese across the bottom of an ungreased pie plate. Saute the onions and spinach in the bacon grease or oil until the onions are starting to brown. Spoon the spinach mixture evenly over the cheese. Mix the beaten eggs and cream and corn starch until well mixed. Add salt and pepper. Pour the egg mixture through a strainer into the pie plate. Place tomato slices evenly around on top. Bake for 20-25 minutes (until center seems set and the edges have browned.) Let cool slightly before cutting.

 

5 thoughts on “Eggs and Quiche…and more eggs

  1. Jennifer Rieck

    Glad ya’ll are enjoying the eggs! Could you share the recipe for the regular quiche too? They both look really good!!!

    Thanks!

      1. gatheraroundthetable

        Sure!! It’s the same as the large quiche with these changes:
        Manchego cheese shredded in the bottom of the mini-muffin tins (about 1 1/2 TB each)
        A spoonful of sauteed spinach and onions on top of the cheese in each cup (you could of course substitute whatever filling you like)
        It was about 3-4 eggs, beaten, and about 1/3 cup of chicken broth mixed in (instead of cream) and then spooned into the cups (about 2 spoonfuls for each cup, regular flatware spoons.) They bake at 425 for 12-15 minutes…when the edges start to get golden and the middle seems set. Let them cool just a bit and then turn them out – I had to use a little spreader to loosen some, but most just popped right out.

    1. gatheraroundthetable

      I didn’t actually, because I wasn’t sure about Whit…but after they came out a little flat I wondered if that was a factor. Let me know if you try them with it…

Leave a Reply

