Another Birthday Already

He’s six. And the next chapter in the super hero story is Green.

These are the sugar cookies made for his classroom party at school. He ventured away from our traditional “birthday cake” this year and went all-cookie. It was a fun change. I made a giant sugar cookie cake for his family party…which was a total experiment as I’d never made one like that before. Based on the rave reviews at the party, I think it worked out well. Of course, it was mostly family, so maybe they were just being nice. (But the platter was totally empty at the end of the day – which rarely happens with a regular cake!)

I wish I’d taken a picture of the inside of it when it was cut…it was really chewy and moist with a kind-of-crunchy outside. In my house that is pretty much the definition of a perfect cookie. Sometimes my experiments work out!

We added a new birthday tradition to the mix this year. I’ve seen this wreath on Pinterest over the past few weeks and I thought it would be great to have one to pull out whenever we are celebrating a birthday. We already have “Happy Birthday” banners for each of the boys that we put up in the living room, so this is just an addition to the celebration decor.

It was a very easy little project – as long as you have nearly 200 balloons on hand!

Key points to making one of these:

Leave the plastic on the wreath so it doesn’t shed straw everywhere.

Use greening pins (found in the floral sections at craft stores) for an easy way to stick the balloons and pipe cleaners onto the wreath.

The original tutorial (linked above) says she used 144 balloons. I used about 200. It didn’t quite look full enough to me at 144, so I kept going. But the back is left bare.

I also thought about adding some ribbon to it, but I didn’t. I think that could be really cute…maybe I’ll add it next time we bring it out for a birthday.

And one more little piece of birthday fun was the early morning balloon gauntlet right outside the birthday boy’s door. Yet another thing I’ve seen floating around on Pinterest that was a big hit. I think the boys played in it for an hour when they got up.  Which was really nice for me while I was busy getting birthday breakfast on the table!

I highly recommend the celebration gauntlet the next time you are party planning!

I was quite happy to have all these projects to keep me busy…it prevented me from really thinking about the fact that he is already SIX. (insert deep sigh here.)

And here’s the cookie details for those of you who might crave a giant cookie.

Sugar Cookie Dough (especially good for icing and bouquet-type cookies)

1 1/2 cups unsalted butter, at room temperature

3 cups sugar

4 eggs

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

4 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (for the large cookie cake.  If making smaller cookies, use 5 cups.)

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

Cream together butter and sugar. Add eggs and vanilla mix well. Add dry ingredients and mix well. Chill dough in refrigerator at least an hour. Preheat oven to 400. (For small cookies, roll dough out to 1/4-1/2 inch thickness, cut and place 1 inch apart on a cookie sheet. Bake 6-8 minutes.) For the large cookie cake, press the dough into a spring form pan (mine is 9-10″ I think.) Cover with foil and bake for at least 20 minutes. (Now this is where it gets a little sketchy because I just kept checking it every few minutes and I’m not entirely sure how many more minutes it was in there. I’m going to say between 24 and 30 total.)  I was just waiting for the center to firm up…and the toothpick test was a good way to tell. The foil kept the edges and the top from getting too brown and too crispy, but you can take it off at the end for the last few minutes.)

Once it was completely cooled, I removed it to a rack and iced it with store-bought cake icing. I cut it like a pie…and, come to think of it, save one tiny taste I took while slicing, I never even got a piece! Maybe next time.

 

6 thoughts on “Another Birthday Already

  1. As a representative of the family party-goers, I would like to attest that the cookie, as well as everything else, was super fantabulous!!! Another stellar preformance by supermom.

    Love,
    Auntie J

Leave a Reply

