Paleo…heard of it?

I’m aware that I have been fairly absent from here for the past few weeks.

I’ve been experimenting, again.

I’m not really ready to divulge all the things that have gone on in the past few weeks, but I will say that I’m over 3 weeks into a 30-day-trial of a paleo-style food plan.

“What’s Paleo?” you might be asking.  Yeah, me, too.  And I’m by no means an expert at this stage of things, but I have read a lot, tried several meal plans, read some more, bought a couple of books, scoured some blogs and forums, looked up some research data and then did a little more reading….so I feel like I know more now than I did three weeks ago, that’s for sure.

There’s quite a bit of information out there about a Paleo-based nutrition plan…but here are the places with my favorite explanations:

Mark’s Daily Apple

Robb Wolf’s Paleo Solution

The Whole 9 Life

I’ve been doing the Whole 30 Program from the Whole9 website…it’s part life-style change and part cleanse and I’m already astounded by the impact it is having on me.  In a good way.

So consider this a teaser post…as I’ll wrap up officially when the 30 days are up. But I can tell you I’m already planning on a short break and then starting right over again with another 30-day plan.

In the meantime, here’s some of the stuff I’ve been eating:

Sweet potato with broiled barramundi and zucchini, summer squash and peppers
Those are zucchini “noodles” made with a julienne peeler and steamed for just a few minutes.
Lots of roasted vegetables
Zucchini cakes
Homemade pesto…on eggs!
Lots of salads full of crazy vegetables (like this wrinkly cucumber!)
Tons of that roasted okra I’ve been raving about
Plenty of eggs, all styles (photo credit: clothesmakethegirl)
Grilled and roasted chicken (photo credit life ambrosia)
Steaks of all varieties (photo credit myrecipes)
and grilled shrimp – one of my favorites! (photo credit sunset)

I thought I’d show you that before we talk about all the things I HAVEN’T been eating!  Stay tuned for more on Paleo in the next few months…

Leave a Reply

