Broccoli Salad

Sorry for the delay on the rest of the paleo menu from last week… we were out of town and I (was unexpectedly without wi-fi) decided to take a mini-break from the internet while enjoying the cool mountain air of northern New Mexico and Colorado.

We rode an awesome train:

Train in Chama, NM Chama, NM

 

But we are home now…back to the heat…and I think I promised a post about my favorite broccoli salad ever. I think I could live on it. Really.

Recently I got a new cookbook (please don’t tell Ron…we sort of have an agreement about me NOT getting any more new cookbooks) from Deb over at Smitten Kitchen. Truly one of my favorite recipe/family/food perfectionist blogs. Way back in 2009 she posted about a broccoli slaw recipe and I never made it…and then it showed up in the cookbook, so I finally got around to it. I’m so sorry that I waited so long.

making broccoli salad When I say that I could live on it, I’m not kidding. As you can see, I make it in a huge batch so it will last for a few days. I think I had it for lunch for three days in a row. So delish.

It also rounded out a paleo-ish dinner with that roast I made:

Roast and broccoli salad

 

Here is the recipe as posted on the original blog:  Broccoli Slaw  (in keeping with the paleo thing, I reluctantly substitute almond milk for the buttermilk and use homemade mayo when I have it.)

Don’t wait as long as I did to try it. Trust me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

