Summer Bucket List

Do you guys do this?

For the past couple of years I’ve asked the boys to compile their summer wish list at the end of the school year… partly because I’m curious about what they are interested in and partly because I worry that if I don’t put it on a list and then on the calendar, we’ll get to the end of August and I’ll feel awful that “we didn’t DO anything this summer!!”

I made the mistake of Googling “summer plans” and “summer routines” the other day.

I was instantly overwhelmed with posts by a ridiculous number of über-super moms who basically run summer camps for their kids for nearly three months…I was exhausted just reading about it. So I stopped. (After I had gleaned a couple of little gems that I might be motivated enough to try.)

Anyway, several of the moms talked about the “Summer Bucket List” which we kind of already do… so I got curious about my real-life super mom friends and their kids’ summer plans.  Wanna share lists??

Lincoln’s (work-in-progress) List:

Go fishing

Visit Schlitterbahn water park

Build a tree house

See the bat cave with Pop

Fourth of July trip to Lake Livingston

hand-feed the deer (in our yard)

Ropes course and zip line at Natural Bridge Caverns

make pottery

Playdates with his friend E.

Whitman’s (work-in-progress) List:

Birthday party in July!

swimming lessons

go to the beach

trips to the movie theater

a visit to Chuck E Cheese

gymnastics lessons (?!)

Parkour lessions (yes, these exist.)

I’d love to see some other ideas… here’s to summer fun!!

Leave a Reply

